Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

This Christmas, as I think we all are…, I am being very selective in my gift purchasing and giving. Although I always put probably way too much thought into each gift to ensure the recipient will truly appreciate the gift, this year I am also determined to be better with the actual “cost” and “value” of the gift. How does it affect our economy, environment, packaging, can the packaging be recycled or reused in some way? Or put into the trash, etc…On this path I have found a GREAT gift for the few kids on my list as well as my adult fellow gardeners and foodies.

The Back to the Roots’ grow-at-home mushroom kit grows up to 1 1/2 lbs of gourmet, oyster mushrooms in 10 days. Right in the box with nothing to add but water, and a little love. Multiple crops can be grown from the same box. AND the soil is 100% recycled coffee grounds.

They are currently offering savings on shipping with the purchase of multiple kits, and have started a new program which will allow you to donate a kit to an elementary classroom of your choice to support youth sustainability education, when you post a picture with your kit fully grown on their facebook page.

I can’t wait to grow my kit and post on my page too! Enjoy ~

